How to get a Schengen Visa to travel to Spain

Reading Time: 2 minutes

So, what’s a Schengen Visa? Do I need one for Spain? How do I get it?

Here’s all you need to know about the Schengen Visa Spain.

The Schengen Area is a zone of 29 countries (known as Schengen States) which have all agreed to reciprocate borderless freedom of movement. Spain is one of these 29 countries.

Therefore anyone from another Schengen State can freely enter, circulate and exit Spain for tourist or business purposes. So, what’s a Schengen Visa Spain?

Someone from another Schengen State can stay in Spain for up to 90 days without a visa but, if they wish to stay longer than this, they will need a Schengen Visa.

Travelers are required to apply for this visa at a Spanish embassy or the Spanish consulate in their home country if Spain is the main destination of their trip.

Schengen Visa Spain: Schengen Area

The 29 Schengen States are:

Spain, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Switzerland.

Schengen Visa Spain

Nationals which require a Schengen Visa Spain

Travelers from countries outside of the Schengen Area are required to attain a Schengen Visa to enter Spain for even a short visit.

These countries include:

Algeria, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Botswana, Cambodia, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ecuador, Fiji, Ghana, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Kenya, Kuwait, Malawi, Maldives, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, North Korea, Pakistan, Philippines, Rwanda, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Vietnam, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Non-Schengen States with reciprocity

There are also sixty-two non-Schengen States which have agreed reciprocity and are also exempt from needing a Schengen Visa to enter a Schengen State.

These countries are:

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Japan, Kiribati, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu.

You can find the official list of countries whose nationals are exempt to be in possession of a Schengen Visa as well as the ones that are required to have it here.

How to apply for a Schengen Visa Spain

To apply for a Schengen Visa you are required to complete an application form, provide two recent photos, have a valid passport, show travel documents (e.g. flight details), have health insurance, show proof of accommodation, and proof you have sufficient funds for your trip.

The cost of a Schengen Visa Spain is around €80 for adults and €40 for children below the age of twelve.

If you need any more advice regarding visas, please get in touch and we will be happy to help.

Share this article

Go! Go! España

Search articles

Popular posts

Do you want to Live and Study in Spain?

We’ve already helped more than 5000 students from all over the world and we provide support in several languages.

Go! Go! España Blog

Related Articles

Are you traveling to Spain soon but require regular prescription medication? If so, you might be wondering how to bring medication to Spain. It’s important to know how to travel with medications so you don’t encounter any issues upon arrival. All it takes is a little bit of extra preparation. Can I Bring Medication to...
Finding homes for rent in Spain might seem difficult. Even more so if you’re also finishing up a university application, organizing travel paperwork, and brushing up on your Spanish. We’re here to let you know that the process is a little bit easier than you might think! We’ve created a guide that will help you...

Contact us

Any questions? We are here to help